top of page

*yawn*

Another late night, and another morning to be wasted. I hate myself. Being a night owl sucks. You know what sucks more though? Getting up in the middle of the night to pee.


You’re all comfy under your blanket and you’re just about to drift off after two hours of scrolling through your Instagram feed and seeing other people’s snap stories (because that’s what we all do the moment we get in bed). And just as you turn over to your comfortable side, a heavy feeling emerges from inside your pelvis. Then the tingly sensation. And then you realize a pee trip is due. When it happens to me, all I can think is:


UGHHH!


You toss and turn, hoping the feeling was false but deep inside you know that your tank is full and needs to be emptied. Sucky metaphor, I know, but it doesn’t sound as boring as ‘a full bladder in need of relieving’. Or maybe it does. I dunno. You pick one.


So anyway. You can’t decide what to do. Stay in the warm, arms of your bed or wrench yourself off to go and pee. In the end of course, everyone does the latter because a bed isn’t warm and loving anymore after you’ve wet it. Then it’s just disgusting.


The sad thing is though, that in that single trip I lose all my sleepiness and have to do more Instagramming to regain the feeling. Most of it goes while I'm aiming in the dark, because more often than not I forget to switch on the lights. And that’s just disastrous. It means you have to rely on just the sense of hearing to aim into the bowl. And that of course demands a large amount of concentration. Because no one wants to pee on the floor. It’s gross.


Naturally, after all that work, the adrenaline is rushing through my body and I’m ready to take on the world. Inspirational music is playing in the background and the ground shakes when I walk. Oh that’s just my head. Damn. I really thought it was real this time. Well. What can I do? I don’t know.


Nothing.


Except be bored. And useless. I have no purpose except to fill the shoes of just another someone in the vast ocean of everyone. Run the same cycle endlessly till the end of my days. We are just another type of beast taking up space on this planet. Thinking there’s a secret meaning to it all. Maybe there is. Who knows? Maybe we do have a role in the epic Broadway play that is the story of this Universe. A romantic notion, surely.


Suddenly, an epiphany.


This is what I can do. There is nothing more joyous than the ability to sit in silence with just your thoughts for company with just the stars in front of you to guide your thoughts.


Tomorrow being a holiday, there is no pressure to get up early. The night is still moderately young and there lie many hours ahead for meditation and reflection. And this is where I can leave you.


Goodnight.


See you next time.

Recent Posts

See All

An Op-Ed (of sorts)

A friend of mine recently told me I'm too sure of myself. It was a passing remark in reference to a random joke, but it still stuck with...

Σχόλια


bottom of page