top of page

Happiness & How To Find It

Happiness is an easy thing to come by because it's in little things everywhere around you. It's in that one song which you really love that you haven't heard in eons. It's in the finale of your favorite TV show living up to your expectations. It's in finishing a book and reliving the whole adventure in your mind. It's in finding a little bit of money in your jeans. And using the money to buy a pack of your favorite flavor of crisps (foreshadowing).


I would be happy just to keep on writing this way and listening to Otherside on repeat till I die of exhaustion. I don't know what would make you happy, but I suppose it's whatever you would want to do constantly  till you die of exhaustion. Hmm. Death isn't a happy thing now, is it?


Still. You must know what I mean to say.


What is this happiness thing though? In my mind it's the perfect drug. It keeps you healthy, like a vitamin supplement. It keeps you happy (obviously), like Ecstasy. It makes you immune to pain, like an analgesic. It relieves you of tension, like Marijuana. It's obviously legal, unlike Cocaine. And it seems to make time pass quickly, like a blackout from Heroin. Also, there's no overdosing on it. Best of all though, it's free.


See what I mean? Perfect drug.


But how do you know when you actually are happy? I have a simple answer for that. It's when you're in a situation and it doesn't occur to you that you would be better off with a different situation. Is that too vague? I hope not. Wait I'll use an example: If you're watching a movie and halfway through you feel like checking your Twitter feed, you aren't happy at that moment. That should work.


I don't know. Maybe I'm wrong. But I'd like to think I'm not.


Everything aside, what I really want to say is... If you feel that you aren't really all that happy, I think that if you try and look at things this way you might just realize you're wrong.


*uplifting music* *condescending smile*


Just kidding. Everybody is awesome. I don't think I'm better than anyone. Especially not with my crippling fear of house lizards. *shudder*


I don't really know why I wrote about this stuff today. I'm not a sensitive, life-advice kind of guy. This is weird for me. :/


Anyway. I'm feeling a bit peckish. Maybe I'll buy a packet of crisps with the 10 bucks i found in the pocket of my jeans.



Haha.


Bye for now.


See you next time.


P.S.: For those of you who don't know, Otherside is a song by Red Hot Chili Peppers. It's really good and you should listen to it. I would put a link but I can't be bothered.

Recent Posts

See All

An Op-Ed (of sorts)

A friend of mine recently told me I'm too sure of myself. It was a passing remark in reference to a random joke, but it still stuck with...

Yorumlar


bottom of page