top of page

On Exploration & the Meaning of Life 

Sometimes, I feel like going back to the days of the bow and arrow would be quite fun. Maybe even further back. Imagine being a hunter gatherer. Scrounging through the jungles trying to find useful items. Looking out for any sort of danger. The hairs on the back of your neck standing on edge. Living off the land like the tribal people of today.


Exciting, isn't it?


I think if we had the ability to lead multiple lives simultaneously it'd be an interesting experiment. Like say we spent a year being a knight at the round table, and then another being an Egyptian priest for king Tutankhamen, and then maybe being a Renaissance artist in Italy. Anything is possible. When matter can be made from nothing, parallel universes and existing consciously in all if them have to be a possibility.


If only...


Obviously the universe switching won't happen. So I guess the closest you can get to that is by finding the modern equivalent of those particular things and experiencing them. Like one of those self discovery journeys.


There are so many things out there that I haven't done and I want to. Like going skydiving or visiting Africa or playing in a band. And in my opinion you can't be really happy with what you do before exploring these other things. It's necessary to learn more to grow more.


Otherwise you remain shallow and superficial. And ignorant of the world outside your comfort zone. Understanding and knowing about these things makes you somehow closer to understanding the meaning of life. Not in the sense that you can define it but in the sense that you feel like maybe, just maybe, you know just a bit more about what this life is all about.


You could say that watching documentaries or reading books will have the same effect and they probably will. But don't you think feeling it yourself instead of through someone else's eyes gives it so much more meaning? I've probably watched around a hundred documentaries about snakes and I've forgotten most of them. But that one time I got to handle a snake myself will always stand out clearly in my mind.


I mean, sure, I could continue to live like I do for the rest of my life. Wake up, go to work or school or college, come back, finish household work, spend time surfing the web, maybe watch something, go to sleep and do the same again the next day. And I probably won't be unhappy with it. But once I get to do what I'm talking about I will definitely always be happy.


I'll put it like this:


Life is the punch line of a particularly clever inside joke by God. And you'll never really understand what's so funny about it. But if you put some time and effort into it, you might just get the gist of it.


But hey, what do I know?


Till next time,


Goodbye!

Recent Posts

See All

An Op-Ed (of sorts)

A friend of mine recently told me I'm too sure of myself. It was a passing remark in reference to a random joke, but it still stuck with...

Comments


bottom of page