top of page

Overwhelmed by Options

A few days ago I was told that I must now decide what it is exactly that I want to do when I grow up. And I still have no answer...


I've thought about it and I've come to various different conclusions at various different times. And I've dismissed each answer within minutes. I know it's partly to do with the fact that every time I give it a second thought I realize that if I pick that option, it's what I'll have to do for the rest of my life. And that puts me off. I mean, won't I get bored after a while?


Of course I will. But I suppose I'll have to live with it. I suppose everyone has to. But still I jut can't seem to find a career that interests me to a level that makes me want to say, 'That's what I'm going to do when I grow up!'


When I grow up? I'm already fifteen! Three more years and I'll be an adult. Three more  after that and I'll probably be done with college. And then I'll have to find a job and start earning money. And then I'll have to grow old. And then die! There's no time!!!


Concentrate, Sunanadan. See? I even spelled my name wrong! What am I to do...?


*deep breath*


I can do this.


I have to do this.


I wish was 12 years old again. :'(


Ugh. Every time I sit down to think about it seriously my mind just ends up at some totally random place. I don't even know how I get there. Because there can be no possible connection between career choices and the respect I have for people who know how to carve wood.


Maybe what I should actually do before answering this diabolical question is ask myself what I like to do.


What do I like to do?


Clearly what I like to do is to run away from my responsibilities like that llama from the video on 9Gag.


I think one of the difficulties of my task is that I have too many interests. I like too many things. Cars, music, books, writing, animals, photography, archaeology, acting, video gaming, food, history, and paleontology to name a few.


In the end I think it'll all come down to what I feel will continue to interest me later on in life as well.


Which one I think will manage to do that remains to be seen...


Till then, ciao!

Recent Posts

See All

An Op-Ed (of sorts)

A friend of mine recently told me I'm too sure of myself. It was a passing remark in reference to a random joke, but it still stuck with...

Comments


bottom of page